The town is located both on the “Great Carrying Place” around the falls on the Hudson but also on the “Great War Path” between French and English colonies. Fort Lyman, constructed in 1755 during the French and Indian War by General Phineas Lyman, had its name changed to Fort Edward by Sir William Johnson in 1756 for King George II’s grandson Prince Edward, a younger brother of the later King George III. The town of Fort Edward was established in 1818.
In 1849, the community of Fort Edward set itself off from the town by incorporating as a village.
The Village of Fort Edward is the most densely populated section of the Town of Fort Edward. In September of 1849, the Village was incorporated and at that time it contained one thousand acres. The first village meeting was held at the home of Gidion Carswell on Broadway, now known as the Charter House. Frederick d. Hodgeman was elected the first president of the village. The term president was used up until 1927 when the title changed to mayor.
Fort Edward today is the County seat, boats traveling up the Champlain Canal can moor at the Yacht Basin and stroll into town, a summer concert series also takes place at the gazebo, the Historic Anvil Inn restaurant was built in 1755, once home to a historic blacksmith’s shop, history enthusiast’s can spend many days exploring Rogers Island, Old Fort House Museum, The Washington County and Fort Edward Historical Societies. Visitors can also arrive by Amtrak on the Adirondack Line – the first stop in Washington County. The train station is also home to Timeless Art and Antiques a wonderful gift shop featuring many Washington County produced items, rent a bike from them or walk up the Feeder Canal trail that is just outside their doors and power up with a sweet from Broadway Sweets famous for their finger rolls. Venture further into the Town of Fort Edward and discover the Theater on the Farm and a new venture Olivia Winery growing grapes and producing wine.